pine: picture of big pine tree in California vineyard (Pine_vineyard_Cal)

pine's Journal

Free Account

Created on 2009-04-14 17:32:01 (#59600), last updated 2015-02-01 (220 weeks ago)

97 comments received, 287 comments posted

27 Journal Entries, 61 Tags, 0 Memories, 16 Icons Uploaded

View extended profile

Location:United States of America
I go where my fandom friends goes! Sometimes they have to poke me a little. I live on the edge of nowhere - in all senses. Online, I'm a reader and reccer more than a writer, and I am a happy commenter. In RL, I'm trying to write fulltime - my PhD dissertation - so I'm trying to be writing there mostly, not here, or even over on IJ which is where I mainly have been since LJ chose wanky McWank as its new main identity.

Online community is my happy place, though, even if I can only run away here to read now and then.

I've been a fan for a loooong time, in many fandoms. Academia is one of my *biggest* fandoms. I am an "ecofan" as well: I love to look at the ways that social, environmental and fandom issues intersect. I am in film fandom, both as a fan of particular film story-verses like LoTR and HP, and of particular film types or genres: I intensely love, devour, and critique films on ethnographic and archaeological matters (in fact, I am on the film jury for an annual festival of arch/ethn documentaries), and films of all genres about the environment.

I also enjoy engaging with a lot of other discussions and activities, some of which are in my Interests lists. Right now the main passions include HP, knitting, and oh yeah, that damn dissertation!

My policy on friending (or whatevertheheck ya call it in DW): sure, go ahead, but preferably only if you are an adult, however that's defined where you live. As I say, you won't see much from me at the moment, anyway. But if you're under 21 or have very specific likes and dislikes, please note: I am considerably over 21, well-read and widely-traveled. I am catholic in my tastes, socialist in my ethics, genderqueer in my politics, and ecofeminist in my approach. My journal reflects my varied and multiple interests. If you feel bound to disagree, please don't bother to read or friend, and don't read the adult content if you are not also over 21, okay? Thx.
People [View Entries]

Open Mutual Access (41):

Open Also Gives Access To (21):

Open Also Has Access From (6):

Open Mutual Subscriptions (44):

Open Other Subscriptions (19):

Open Other Subscribers (7):

Communities [View entries]
Feeds [View Entries]
To link to this user, copy this code:
On Dreamwidth: